This week is National Dance Week— “A week to celebrate dance and promote fun fitness.”  We all know what dance is… Wikipedia defines it as “a type of art that generally refers to movement of the body, usually rhythmic and to music, performed in many different cultures and used as a form of expression, social interaction, or presented in a spiritual or performance setting.”  This art form is an inspirational and emotional mode of communication that sparks a fire inside souls and touches the hearts of millions worldwide.  Dance is a passion.

Growing up, I always wanted to be a dancer.  I would twirl and jump and move about in my living room to music of any sort.  I had the desire to be in dance lessons and to perform on stage.  But I played many other sports instead:  Basketball, Softball, Track and Field, etc. and had no time (or extra funds from my parents) to be involved in anything else.  Finally, in the 7th grade, I was able to enroll in a dance class.  A little late as far as a typical dancer goes… most of my classmates had started dance lessons at the tender age of 3.  I felt behind, but I was determined to catch up.  I was in love.  Immediately.  As soon as I took my first steps on the dance floor.  I practiced constantly, stretching and turning and balancing at home, at school, outside, or where ever I had enough space.  Dance quickly became my life and still is to this day.  I wouldn’t give up dancing for ANYTHING!

Being in dance has taught me so many things in life.  It isn’t all steps and coordination and rhythm (even though these things are very important, too!).  Dance teaches respect.  Dance teaches discipline.  Dance teaches you work ethic.  Dance teaches you to be courteous.  Dance teaches you patience.  Dance teaches you teamwork.  Dance teaches you strength and control.  Dance teaches and builds your listening skills.  Dance builds your self-esteem and self-confidence.  And the list goes on and on!

So if your children express an interest in Dance, whether they are male or female, young, or not-so-young, DON’T HESITATE!!  Sign them up!!  And remember, Ballet is the technical basis for all styles of dance, so it is always a good idea to start here!  Choose a studio that truly cares about the development of your child, both in and out of the classroom.  A studio that is supportive of each individual child and that emphasizes the importance of teaching your children core values and self-esteem, and of course, quality, professional dance instruction.

For those of you who live in the Eau Claire area, check out ECSOD!! www.eauclaireschoolofdance.com

Happy National Dance Week!!  GET UP AND DANCE!!

~ Miki Hegg, Assistant Director, ECSOD

About eauclaireschoolofdance

The Eau Claire School of Dance has been providing professional quality dance instruction to students ages 18 months to Adult for over 13 years! Join our dance family today!

One response »

Leave a Reply

